Wednesday, Oct 23rd

Last update:08:25:23 AM GMT

Headlines:
 
top1en
 
Angola

Historical information

Article Index
Historical information
Early in the 20th century
All Pages

ИсторияThe territory of the country was inhabited even in pre-historical times, which can be scientifically confirmed by archaeological finds discovered in Lunda, the Congo and Namib Desert. The first people who appeared here were bushmen, skillful pygmy hunters with light-brown skin. Early in the 6th century B. C. some peoples that had reached a higher stage in their development and were using technological achievements of the Iron Age, started one of the greatest migrations in human history. They were Bantu people from the north, probably from the area that is now called The Republic of Cameroon. When the Bantu reached Angola, they met the bushmen, and other ethnic groups that were even more primitive, and acquainted them with the Bantu technologies in the field of metallurgy, production of ceramics and agriculture.
Historically, the first sociopolitical entity that appeared on this territory came to be known as The Congo Kingdom. It was formed in the 13th century and extended from Gabon in the north to the Cuanza River in the south; from the Atlantic Ocean in the west to the Cuango River in the east. The basis of the country's economy was formed by its agriculture. The power was in the hands of the local aristocrats – mani – who occupied the key administrative posts and were subordinate only to the king of the Congo. The Kingdom was subdivided into territorial units called m’banza, and each such unit was controlled by a mani. The capital city was M’banza Congo, with a population of over 50 thousand people.

In the 16th century the Congo Kingdom consisted of six provinces. It also included a number of other kingdoms formed on a tribal basis, and among these was the Ndongo Kingdom in its southern part. The main line of activities of the Congo Kingdom was trade based on highly developed agriculture and intensive mining for extracting natural resources. In 1482 Portuguese caravels commanded by Diogo Cao reached the estuary of the Congo River, named also Nzadi.
The Portuguese had firearms and they confessed in a religion that was attractive for the natives; on the other hand, the Congo Kingdom could offer Portugal some slaves, ivory and mineral resources.
The Portuguese colony named Angola was established in 1575 upon arrival of Paulo Dias de Novais accompanied by 100 settler families and 400 soldiers. Luanda became a town in 1605. The country traded with Brazil. The situation was paradoxical - while being officially a Portuguese colony, Angola was virtually a Brazilian colony.
In the south of the Congo Kingdom, in the basin of the Cuanza River, there were a number of powerful states. The main of these states was the Ndongo Kingdom ruled by the king Ngola. Ngola Kiluange was reigning when the first Portuguese landed on the coast of the country. The king pursued a policy of alliance with the neighboring states. Several years after his reign Ndongo managed to revive due to the fact that the power in the country was taken by Ginga Mbandi, who came to be widely known in world history as Queen Ginga.

She pursued an ingenious policy and managed to contain the Portuguese through signing with them a number of aptly worded agreements. In 1635 she established a powerful coalition together with such states as Matamba, Ndongo, Congo, Kassanje, Dembos and Kissamas. While leading that strong coalition, Ginga threw back the Portuguese away from her lands.
In the meanwhile Portugal was occupied by Spain, and the Dutch used the situation to seize Luanda in 1641. But Ginga turned the Dutch into her allies, thus strengthening the coalition considerably and ousting the Portuguese forces back to their stronghold in Massangano, which the Portuguese were defending stubbornly and used the place as a base to periodically send out raid parties for conducting «Kuata-Kuata» warfare (for capturing slaves). Angolan slaves became the main factor of development of the Brazilian colony, because in spite of prohibition of slave trade, the Portuguese continued sending slaves secretly from Angola to Brazil.
In 1648, a strong naval squadron with many ships came from Brazil. That military expedition commanded by Salvador Correia de Sa i Benevides, seized Luanda again and ensured the start of massive returns of the Portuguese. Correia de Sa dealt a shattering and powerful blow at the forces of the natives. Since then the coalition started to decline. Ginga died in 1663. Two years later the king of the Congo made desperate attempts to retain his sovereignty over the lands around the bay of Luanda - Ilha de Luanda - occupied and defended by forces of Correia de Sa, but the king suffered a defeat, which later led to his kingdom's losing independence. The Ndongo Kingdom was taken over by the Portuguese Crown in 1771.
The old philosophy of war gave gradually way to the new philosophy of trade. The tremendous upgrowth of commerce and availability of appropriate agreements contributed to such changes in relations between the parties. The former militant and conflicting countries began turning into states oriented towards production and exchange of goods.
Beginning from 1764, the former slaveholding society started turning into a nation that was oriented towards producing consumer goods. In 1850 Luanda was already a big city with numerous commercial firms. Together with Benguela it exported palm oil and peanuts, wax, copal (tree resin), wood, ivory, cotton, coffee, cocoa beans and other foodstuffs. Here the local people started to produce maize, tobacco, dried meat and cassava flour.
Angolan bourgeoisie began to appear and develop. In 1836 slave trade was abolished, and in 1844 Angolan ports were opened for visits by foreign sea vessels.
In the area of the central plateau (Planalto) there appeared the states Bie and Bailundo, and the latter became widely known as a big producer of foodstuffs and wood resin.
The constantly strengthening colonial authorities that were becoming richer and richer, could not put up with the successful development of these states and established a complete control over these territories by the beginning of the 20th century.
After the Berlin Conference, Portugal had to start the territorial development of its colonies immediately.
The trade in wood resin and ivory, together with taxes collected from the local population, enriched the parent country – Portugal – to a great extent.

Saturday, May 27th

Обновлено:08:25:23 AM GMT

Лента:
 
Посольство Республики Ангола в России
 
Angola

Историческая справка

Индекс материала
Историческая справка
burj
Все страницы

ИсторияТерритория страны была обитаемой еще в доисторические времена, как об этом свидетельствуют находки в районах Лунда, Конго и в Намибийской пустыне. Первыми район заселили бушмены — искусные охотники, небольшого роста, со светло-смуглой кожей. В начале VI века до н.э. более развитые народы негроидной расы, технологически находившиеся в железном веке, предприняли крупнейшую в Истории миграцию. Это были племена банту. Они пришли с севера, возможно с территории нынешней Республики Камерун. После прихода в Анголу, они столкнулись с племенами бушменов, другими значительно менее развитыми племенами, которым передали свои умения в области обработки металла, производства керамики и в сельском хозяйстве.
Первое крупное политическое объединение на этой территории вошло в историю под именем “Королевство Конго”. Оно появилось в XIII веке и простиралось от Габона на севере, до реки Кванза на юге, от Атлантического океана на западе, до реки Куангу на востоке. Основу его экономики составляло сельское хозяйство. Власть находилась в руках мани — аристократов, которые занимали ключевые посты и подчинялись только королю Конго. Королевство делилось на мбанза – территориальные единицы, каждая из которых находилась под управлением одного представителя мани. Столицей было поселение Мбанза Конго, с населением более 50 тысяч человек.

В XVI веке Королевство Конго делилось на шесть провинций, и в его состав входили несколько королевств, образованных на племенной основе, как, например, королевство Ндонго на юге страны. Главным занятием была торговля, основанная на высокоразвитом сельском хозяйстве и интенсивной добыче полезных ископаемых. В 1482 году португальские каравеллы под командованием Диого Као прибыли в устье реки Конго или Нзади.
Португальцы обладали огнестрельным оружием и интересной религией. В обмен Королевство Конго могло предложить Португалии рабов, слоновую кость и полезные ископаемые.
Португальская колония Ангола сформировалась в 1575 году, когда сюда прибыл Паулу Диаш де Новайш со 100 семьями колонистов и 400 солдатами. Луанда приобрела статус города в 1605 году. Торговля велась с Бразилией. Сложилась парадоксальная ситуация: Ангола, будучи португальской колонией, в действительности была колонией Бразилии.
На юге Королевства Конго, в районе реки Кванза, существовало несколько мощных государств. Наиболее значимым из них было Королевством Ндонго, которым правил Нгола (король). Нгола Килуанже находился у власти во времена прибытия португальцев. Для его правления было характерно проведение политики союза с соседними государствами. Спустя несколько лет, Королевство Ндонго возродилось, с приходом к власти Жинга Мбанди, обессмертившей себя под именем королевы Жинга.
Проводя тонкую политику, она сумела сдержать продвижение португальцев при помощи хорошо подготовленных соглашений и договоров. В 1635 году ей удалось сформировать крупную коалицию в составе государств Матамба, Ндонго, Кассанже, Конго, Дембос и Киссама.
Возглавив мощную коалицию, Жинга серьезно потеснила португальцев.
Между тем, Испания завоевала Португалию, и голландцы, воспользовавшись сложившейся ситуацией, в 1641 году захватили Луанду. Однако Жинга сделала их своими союзниками, укрепив положение коалиции и оттеснив португальцев в район Массангано, который они отчаянно защищали, время от времени совершая вылазки Куата-Куата (захват рабов). Рабы из Анголы играли основополагающую роль в развитии колонии Бразилии, т.к., несмотря на то, что работорговля была отменена, португальцы продолжали тайно отправлять рабов из Анголы в Бразилию.
В 1648 году из Бразилии прибыла большая эскадра под командованием Салвадора Коррейя де Са и Беневидеш, которая отвоевала Луанду, положив начало массовому возвращению португальцев. Удар по силам туземцев, нанесенный Салвадором Коррейя де Са, был сокрушительным. С этих пор начинается закат коалиции. Жинга умерла в 1663 году. Спустя два года король Конго предпринял отчаянную попытку отвоевать Илья де Луанда, где закрепился Коррейя де Са, но потерпел поражение, приведшее к потере независимости. Королевство Ндонго было подчинено португальской короне в 1771 году.
Философия войны стала постепенно заменяться философией торговли. Бурное развитие торговли и наличие соответствующих соглашений способствовали данному изменению в отношениях между сторонами. Из воинственных государств формировались государства, нацеленные на производство и торговлю.
Начиная с 1764 года, рабовладельческое общество становится обществом, направленным на производство того, что оно потребляет. В 1850 году Луанда была уже крупным городом с множеством торговых фирм и, вместе с Бенгелой, экспортировала пальмовое масло, земляной орех, воск, древесную смолу, древесину, слоновую кость, хлопок, кофе, какао-бобы и многое другое. Кукурузу, табак, сушеное мясо и муку маниоки начали производить на месте.