Last update:08:25:23 AM GMT

You are here: Activity of embassy Activity of embassy 2000 - 2012 SADC Ambassadors celebrate in Moscow the 36th anniversary of the organization’s

SADC Ambassadors celebrate in Moscow the 36th anniversary of the organization’s


The SADC Ambassadors residing in Moscow and accredited in the Russian Federation celebrated happily the thirty-sixth anniversary of this organization of sub-Saharan Africa. The UpDK Cultural Center, that became the venue for the celebration, proved too small for the diplomatic corps, especially the African one. Here the diplomats interacted with European, American and Asian representatives in order to strengthen the ties connecting the countries between each other, especially the 14 member countries of the Southern Africa Development Committee.
Ambassador of Mozambique to Russia Mário Saraiva Ngwenya, anchored the event dedicated to 36 years of SADC existence and, prompted by the host of the ambassadors of the organization, greeted the present guests and stressed the value of the memorable date of the 23d of September.
The President of the SADC group in Russia, who was also in attendance, appealed to deep- en the integration and coordination of the members within and beyond the African continent.
Dean of the African Ambassadors to Russia Máxime Dovo, echoed the SADC President by highlighting the weight and importance that the SADC as a regional structure has in the world and in the African continent.
In his turn, Russian Vice Foreign Minister Mikhail Bogdanov, who represented the Russian government, voiced his willingness to continue working with African countries in order to consolidate the relations of cooperation and friendship with all states in Africa.
Apart from the official ceremonies, the event provided for the entertainment part. With the flags in the background, accompanied by the national anthems, the attendees enjoyed the typical African dishes, music, dancing, cake cut and the family photo of all resident Ambassadors.
The 14 SADC countries are: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Malawi, Mauritius, Madagascar, Namibia, Tanzania, Swaziland, South Africa, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


DSC 9468